top of page




The SFF Masterclass is a bi-annual, three-day event in science fiction criticism. It offers an intensive course in which students broaden their critical perspectives, sharpen their critical tools, and make contacts with other people working on and in sf and fantasy. The Class Leaders, consisting of leading figures from sf literature, criticism and academia, prepare sample texts for the students to closely scrutinise, and gain insights in both the writing and analysis of sf. The SFF also runs a Mini-Masterclass at Eastercon which acts as a taster for the main event. 


To apply please send a short (no more than 3,000 words) piece of critical writing (a blog entry, review, essay, or other piece) and a one page curriculum vitae to the Masterclass Officer, Tony Keen (see Contacts). Past students are encouraged to apply although we will prioritise applications from those who have not previously attended. For details of the latest Masterclass, see our regular blog updates.

The previous Class Leaders have been:

2020    No Masterclass

2018    Nick Hubble, John Johnston, Stephanie Saulter

2017    No Masterclass

2016    Andrew Milner, Maureen Kincaid Speller, Tade Thompson

2015    Pat Cadigan, Nick Lowe, Graham Sleight

2014    Andy Duncan, Neal Easterbrook, K.V. Johansen

2013    No Masterclass

2012    M. John Harrison, Edward James, Kari Sperring

2011    Mark Bould, Claire Brialey, Paul McAuley

2010    Istvan Csicsery-Ronay, Roz Kaveney, Liz Williams

2009    Joan Gordon, Paul Kincaid, Adam Roberts

2008    Wendy Pearson, Geoff Ryman, Gary K. Wolfe

2007    Andrew M. Butler, Joan Haran, Brian Stableford








bottom of page