The Foundation Essay Prize

The Foundation Essay Prize was inaugurated in 2001 and is awarded to the best submission by a postgraduate or non-tenured researcher. (The latter within five years of their PhD.) The essays can be on any area of science fiction studies and must conform to the in-house style guide. Submissions are judged by the editorial team and the winner receives guaranteed publication in the journal. Details of this year's Prize can be found here:

Past and current winners of the Prize are:

2001: Wendy Pearson, 'Science Fiction as Pharmacy: Plato, Derrida, Ryman'

2002: Matthew Wolf-Meyer, 'Technics, Memes, Ideology: The Affirmation of Lies and the Pursuit of the Future'

2003: No Award

2004: Elizabeth Throesch, ‘Charles Howard Hinton’s Fourth Dimension and the Phenomenology of the Scientific Romances (1884-1886)’

2005: Michael LeBlanc, 'Judith Merril and Isaac Asimov's Quest to Save the Future'

2006: Jolene McCann, 'Judith Merril's Spaced Out Library'

2007: No competition

2008: Jason Bourget, 'Biological Determinism, Masculine Politics and the Failure of Libertarianism in Robert A. Heinlein's The Moon is a Harsh Mistress'

2009-10: No competition

2011: Chris Pak, '"A Fantastic Reflex of Itself, An Echo, A Symbol, A Myth, A Crazy Dream”: Terraforming as Landscaping Nature’s Otherness in H.G. Wells’s The Shape of Things to Come and Olaf Stapledon’s Last and First Men and Star Maker’

2012-15: No competition

2016: Selena Middleton, 'Utopia and the Colonized Pastoral: Africa, Myth and Blackness in Greg Bear’s Queen of Angels'

2017: Bodhisattva Chattopadhyay: 'Speculative Utopianism in Kalpavigyan: Mythologerm and Women’s Science Fiction'

2018: Emily Cox, 'Denuding the Gynoid: The Woman-Machine as Bare Life in Alex Garland's Ex Machina'

2019: Valentina Salvatierra, 'The "Fiery Arc" of Language: Fictive Multilingualism, Resistance and Alterity in Ursula K. Le Guin