2017 Class Leaders:

Nick Hubble (Brunel University) - Nick is co-editor of the Science Fiction Handbook (2013) and London in Contemporary British Fiction (2016)

John J. Johnston (Egypt Exploration Society) - John is co-editor of the mummy anthology Unearthed, his introduction for which was shortlisted for the BSFA Award for Non-Fiction.

Stephanie Saulter (author) - Stephanie is the author of Gemsigns and its sequels


Tenth SFF Criticism Masterclass

Class Leader: Andrew Milner, literature Professor and author of Locating Science Fiction; Maureen Kincaid Speller, critic and reviews editor of Strange HorizonsTade Thompson, writer of SF and general fiction and consultant psychiatrist

This was held from 23 to 25 June 2016, at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich.

Ninth SFF Criticism Masterclass

Class Leaders: Pat Cadigan, multiple Clarke and Hugo Award-winning author of Synners and Fools, and Official Queen of Cyberpunk; Nick Lowe, BSFA Award-winning critic and writer of Interzone's 'Mutant Popcorn' column; Graham Sleight, Hugo Award-winning Managing Editor of the Science Fiction Encyclopedia.

This was held from 17 to 19 July 2015, at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich.

Eighth SFF Criticism Masterclass

Class Leaders: Andy Duncan; Neil Easterbrook; K.V. Johansen

This was held from 11 to 13 August 2014, at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich.

[Seventh SF Criticism Masterclass 2013]

This Masterclass was not held due to insufficient numbers.

Class leaders: Nick Lowe, author of the long running 'Mutant Popcorn'; Graham Sleight, Editor of Foundation, and managing editor for the Hugo Award Winning Science Fiction Encyclopedia; Catherynne M. Valente, author of The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, and participant in the Hugo Award winning Squeecast.

This Masterclass would have been held the 2 to 4 July 2013 at The University of Liverpool.

Sixth SF Criticism Masterclass 2012

Class Leaders: M. John Harrison; Edward James; Kari Sperring

This was held from 22 to 24 June 2012 at Middlesex University, London (off site).

Fifth SF Criticism Masterclass 2011

Class Leaders: Mark Bould; Claire Brialey; Paul McAuley

This was held from 1 to 3 July 2011 at Middlesex University, London (the Hendon Campus).

Fourth SF Criticism Masterclass 2010

Class Leaders: Istvan Csicsery-Ronay; Roz Kaveney; Liz Williams

This was held from 11 to 13 June 2010 at Middlesex University, London (the Hendon Campus).

Third SF Criticism Masterclass 2009

Class Leaders: Joan Gordon; Paul Kincaid; Adam Roberts

This was held from 10 to 12 June 2009 at the University of Liverpool, allowing students to use the SFF Collection.

Second SF Criticism Masterclass 2008

Class Leaders: Wendy Pearson; Geoff Ryman; Gary K. Wolfe

This was held in London.

First SF Criticism Masterclass 2007

Class Leaders: Andrew M. Butler; Joan Haran; Brian Stableford

This was held at the University of Liverpool.